Buddha and Buddhism teachings and their main precepts to be followed by Buddhists

The Buddha's teachings are about suffering and how to overcome the suffering to lead happy life. Buddha taught people that make decisions in the way they would be happy and have peace of mind.

Buddha taught that life will not be complete perfect and that we all will suffer (Dukkha) which is not permanent. He taught that we suffer a lot because of our own desires, angriness and stupidity, and he also showed that we could end our suffering by letting go of desires and overcoming anger and stupidity.

Buddha had also said that complete letting go of these negative influences is called Nirvana, meaning "to extinguish", like putting out the flame of a candle. This would be the end of suffering, when one is fully awake and has let go of all the desires and anger, is called the Enlightenment. In Buddhism both the Enlightenment and Nirvana means the same thing.

All the Buddhists are always encouraged to follow the five precepts or rules that say what not to do at any cost. Buddha said that killing, stealing, having sex in a harmful way, and lying are not signs of skill.

These are the five concepts that each person should pledge on,

1. I will never hurt a person or animal that is alive.

2. I will never take something that is not given to me.

3. I will never have sex in a way that is harmful.

4. I will never lie or say things that really hurt people.

5. I will never intake intoxicants, like alcohol or drugs.

In Buddhism religion, if a person wants to be a monk, he should follow other precepts also.

Buddhists often meditate, or think deeply, while sitting in a special or specific way for many reasons. They often chant and meditate while walking; sometimes they do these things to understand the human heart and mind. And sometimes they do this meditation to understand the method that world works. But mainly they do meditation to find peace within themselves.

No comments: